Image – Marjory Wentworth

Author Marjory Wentworth

Nonfiction: African American History

Marjory Wentworth is the New York Times bestselling author of Out of Wonder, Poems Celebrating Poets (with Kwame Alexander and Chris Colderley). She is the co-writer of We Are Charleston, Tragedy and Triumph at Mother Emanuel, with Herb Frazier and Dr. Bernard Powers and Taking a Stand, The Evolution of Human Rights, with Juan E. Mendez. She is co-editor with Kwame Dawes of Seeking, Poetry and Prose inspired by the Art of Jonathan Green, and the author of the prizewinning children’s story Shackles. Her books of poetry include Noticing Eden, Despite Gravity, The Endless Repetition of an Ordinary Miracle and New and Selected Poems. Her poems have been nominated for The Pushcart Prize six times. She is the current poet laureate of South Carolina. Wentworth serves on the Board of Advisors at The Global Social Justice Practice Academy, and she is a 2020 National Coalition Against Censorship Free Speech is for Me Advocate. She teaches courses in writing, social justice and banned books at The College of Charleston.

Marjory Wentworth - Out of Wonder Marjory Wentworth - We are Charleston

Out of Wonder, 2017
We are Charleston, 2016
New and Selected Poems, 2014
Taking a Stand, 2011
The Endless Repetition of an Ordinary Miracle, 2010
Despite Gravity, 2007
Noticing Eden, 2003
Nightjars, 1995
Shackles, 1986

Place Hold

Author Links